Skip to main content

Testimonials & Reviews

4.96/5
Active Orthopaedics P.C. -  - Orthopaedic Surgeon

Active Orthopaedics P.C.

Orthopaedic Surgeons located in Waterbury, Middlebury, CT

4.96/5 Star Rating
83 total reviews

Active Orthopaedics P.C. always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 83 reviews with an average rating of 4.96 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Active Orthopaedics P.C. below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Domenick C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/19/24
The best. Dr. Carlson and his entire staff are an example of what medical care should be. They go above and beyond for their patients and are skilled professionals. Thank you all for helping make a difficult time as comforting and easy as possible.
LORI A.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/16/23
WEBSITE DOES NOT WORK FOR SCHEDULING! CALL OFFICE TO SCHEDULE
Darlene F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/13/23
I had suffered fractures to my humerus and multiple tears to my rotator cuff of my left shoulder. The damage was too severe to repair and required a total reverse shoulder replacement. Dr. Carlson performed my surgery and after many months of physical therapy and being under Dr. Carlson's expert care, I have regained most of the use of my arm. Dr. Carlson was very compassionate and understanding addressing my concerns throughout my long recovery. I would highly recommend him to anyone needing expert orthopedic care.
Maureen K.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/27/23
When Dr. Kaplan suggested that I needed a full knee replacement surgery, I was in denial. I put it off for several months in hope my knee would heal. But it didn't! Surgery was done in December 2022 and in order to mentally feel good about it, I had a goal of dancing to my favorite band, the Boogie Boys. My surgery was December 12 and the I was able to dance 2 weeks after surgery. I waltzed and line danced with my friends. I'm so happy Dr. Kaplan encouraged me to do it. He's a miracle worker as well as a fantastic surgeon. Staff were wonderful and guided me every step of the way. Do it! You will be glad as I am!!
Lee Anne R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/04/22
A fall on vacation & a fractured distal radius led me to Dr. Carlson. He was excellent, providing his recommendations & answering all of my questions. He even helped me take a picture of my post surgery X-ray so I could share it with my family! It was amazing to see the plate & all the screws! All his staff was great & caring.
Shannon S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/31/22
Exceptional care and support from Dr. Kaplan and his staff. Had my knee replaced in December and no more pain or stiffness. Wish I hadn't waited this long, I am 51 and I have my life back!
Donna J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/24/22
I am two weeks post-op after a total knee replacement. This is my second TKR performed by Dr. Kaplan. I couldn't be more pleased with my results. He is a skilled surgeon, nice person and highly regarded by the staff. He even called me the night before my surgery to see if I had any questions. I would highly recommend Dr. Kaplan
Suzanne M B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/16/21
Dr. Carlson is fabulous. I can raise my arm over my head with no problem. I had really no pain after day 3 postoperative..it was so bad before the surgery recuperation was smooth sailing for me..Thank you. and his staff are really nice too.
Jodi P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/05/21
6 weeks after total knee replacement surgery and I’m back to walking my 2 golden retrievers. Dr Kaplan is an excellent and thorough surgeon. Very to the point and honest. Highly recommend him for any knee problems.
Louise S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/09/21
Dr. Kaplan is an exceptional surgeon, polite, personable, great listener. I recommend Dr. Kaplan to anyone that needs Orthopaedic work.
Vernon D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/28/21
I recently had a Left Total Knee Replacement. I am extremely pleased with the results. I have heard the stories about TKR and expected the worst, but Dr. Kaplan did a great job and I experienced very little swelling and really no pain. In fact, about 4 weeks after my surgery I experienced a tooth ache and that was much worse than any discomfort I had due to surgery. I stuck to the PT plan and am now @ 6 weeks post surgery. I'm able to do everything I was able to do before the surgery with no pain or limping. I'd really recommend Dr. Kaplan. He's got a great team and he knows what he's doing. If/when it's time for my right knee, I'll be a return customer!
Deborah S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/15/21
After having both knees replaced by dr kaplan they feel great. I received all the support and therapy i needed to get back on my feet. Thanks to Dr kaplan and his staff.
Anthony B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/15/21
Great physician ! Highly recommend him! ! He's the man!
Alfred S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/04/21
He is proficient and exact to the point! Very through at procedure and explaining it! Exceptional surgeon! Staff and doctor are excellent!
Kathleen C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 07/20/21
I would highly recommend Dr. Kaplan for a knee replacement. Happy with results in 7 months time I have regained walking, swimming, gardening and all under his recommendations!
Loretta S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 07/15/21
I find that Dr.Kaplan is a wonderful doctor ! I waited far too long to have my knee taken care of. In April I had a complete knee replacement. When I woke up from surgery, I realized I had no pain compared to what I had . Thank you
Jacob L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/17/21
Dr. Carlson, the Active Orthopedics team, and all the wonderful staff at Naugatuck Valley Surgical Center took great care of my needs! I appreciate their expertise, friendliness and transparent communication. :) I just had a SLAP (type 2) repair + bicep tenodesis. I am beyond thankful that I had been referred to Dr. Carlson and his team.
Edward B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 06/17/21
I saw Dr. Kaplan for another follow-up appointment on 6/15/2021. I had unilateral (partial) knee replacements on both knees. It has been 9 years since my left knee was repaired, and 6 years since the right knee was done. Following x-rays and a physical exam, Dr. Kaplan explained that the prosthetic parts are still in the correct position, and that both knees are doing extremely well. I agree 100%. I have no pain, or limitation of movement. I can walk, ride a bike, play pickleball, swim and hike strenuous trails without any trouble at all. The best news Dr. Kaplan told me was that he now has patients who had this surgery done over 20 years ago, and are still going strong, and that I may never have to have a total knee replacement! I highly recommend partial knee replacement for those who qualify, and I also highly recommend Dr. Kaplan as an excellent surgeon, and all around nice guy.
WILLIAM B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/25/21
:)
Robert H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/04/21
Caring , Knowledgeable and experienced! He is a very concerned and down to earth physician.

Major Insurance Plans Accepted

At Active Orthopaedics, we accept most major insurance plans. Here is a short-list of just some of the most popular plans we accept. Please contact our office if you do not see your insurance provider listed.

Contact us!

Aetna
Anthem Blue Cross
Cigna
ConnectiCare
First Health
Harvard Pilgrim Health Care
HealthyCT
Medicare
Multiplan, Inc.
Oxford United Healthcare
PHCS
Tricare
United Healthcare